Greater Montreal Movies

mother!

mother!

mother!

Score: 3.8 / 10

Release Date: September 15, 2017
Director: Darren Aronofsky
Producer: Ari Handel, Darren Aronofsky, Scott Franklin
Studio: Paramount Pictures
Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Javier Bardem, Ed Harris, Michelle Pfeiffer, Domhnall Gleeson, Emily Hampshire
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 121 minutes

Write a Review


mother! movie reviews

  • 8

    mother!

    Saturday, June 16, 2018 6:38:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I found this film fascinating yet very depressing. I'll watch this again but not anytime soon. Yes, the allegory becomes very clear early on and it follows a narrative path that is largely unsurprising because we know the story of ourselves and our beliefs; but perhaps the point was to be obvious because the warnings cannot be screamed loudly enough. Disturbing because it needed to be. I didn't find it blasphemous at all and I thought the religious interpretation - especially the denouement - quite interesting. Weird that all the spoiler reviews stay up on this page despite the policy posted here. And people! Let's stick to reviewing the films and not each other, please. We should be civil. We should be better.

  • 2

    mother!

    Wednesday, January 24, 2018 12:23:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Boring story line.

  • 1

    mother!

    Monday, January 22, 2018 6:55:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Yes I got all the allegories. Yes I got all the hidden meanings. How could I not when you are hit over the head with them! This isn't about superior intellect being needed to understand - it is about self-aggrandizement by anyone who liked this garbage. Yeah pretty high IQ here and I STILL think it was a waste of time and money. Just about the stupidest movie I've ever seen. No problem with the acting really (well some over-acting sure) but it is pretentious and overkill. The 'ideas' behind this piece of trash could be summed up in a couple of paragraphs without wasting all that time on making pseudo-intellectuals feel important because they saw some secret message. The message was - look how self-indulgent I can be and make everyone think i'm a pioneer. No Aronofsky - you're just predictably self-indulgent, and incredibly boring. It didn't make me think much except how dumb this movie was. And how gullible those who praise it are to think this person is some kind of great artist for being so absurd.

  • 2

    mother!

    Friday, January 5, 2018 3:03:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The people who are giving this good reviews are the same as the unleashed mob mentality as in the movie who become uncontrollable. Deindividuation. Don't waste your hard earned money on this trash.

  • 1

    mother!

    Friday, January 5, 2018 2:47:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    - 1000 *infinity WoW MoM So, because it's computer generated imaging it's all GOoD? Umm..no. If you stand for nothing you'll fall for anything. Including this disgusting film. The whole world is so desensitized as it is. Oh..hey.. let's all be cool with the suffering of a baby. After all, if we're exposed to this type of violence, ( AGAIN and AGAIN) it'll be okay. Don't worry about it. Nope. Nope . NO! IT ENDS NOW. I think films should have warnings of infant suffering and violence. I'll be damned if these creeps ever get my money again .

  • mother!

    Wednesday, January 3, 2018 12:22:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Opinion is not part of how to rate a film - opinions are neither right nor wrong.

  • 7

    mother!

    Wednesday, January 3, 2018 12:20:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Holly allegory Batman! I have to think that anyone who is against this movie either does not fully understand it, or hates the idea that they are in fact (represented to be) part of the crazy mob that formed throughout the film. It's a great 'story' and re-imaging of how the world evolved. The infant was CGI folks! Get over it LOL

  • 1

    mother!

    Monday, January 1, 2018 7:30:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was good to start with but as it went on it got worse and worse to absolute kaos and stupidity. So pathetic. ??

  • 2

    mother!

    Monday, January 1, 2018 10:49:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terrible and offensive story. An attack on skme people faith and beliefs. If this attacked other subject matter here would be uproar but because it attacks our faith in god we seem to have to accept this in silence.

  • 10

    mother!

    Sunday, December 31, 2017 11:58:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fans of infant violence have slim pickings to satisfy their wants, but this film delivers!! Best movie since A SERBIAN FILM.